1406945469448

One of the things I’ve missed most this summer is pleasure reading. After a day with my nose in bar prep books and eyes glued to video lectures, I simply could not keep my eyes open long enough to tackle a novel. On the day before the bar exam, I took my prep course’s suggestion and enjoyed a day off. I got a pedicure and ate a delightful lunch solo at one of my favorite Philly restaurants Tria. The day was topped off with some paperback shopping at the Barnes and Nobles near Rittenhouse Square. Brick and mortar book stores are usually more expensive than Amazon, but there is something so blissful about flipping through the pages of a book before buying it that I can’t resist from time to time. Plus who can defy the Siren’s song of the “buy two get one free” table? Not me!

Each month I’ll announce the Book of the Month “BoM” ( <– sign I’ve used WAY too may mnemonics recently) at the beginning of the month. I’ll do my best to pick books available in paperback because (1) they are cheaper and (2) I hate maneuvering bulky hardcover books. Those things seriously get heavy during a marathon reading session! At the end of the month I’ll share my thoughts and hopefully hear some of yours too! Located in Philly? Let’s meet up for coffee and discuss!

This month’s book is from one of my favorite fiction authors, Jodi Picoult. I got hooked on her novels pretty early on in high school thanks to my friend Jenna. I loved how many of her books had a female lawyer character. Shocker! However, I think it’s the moral dilemmas that Jodi Picoult poses which keep me coming back for more.

My pick is one of her newer novels that I didn’t have time to tackle in law school. Without further ado, the August BoM is The Storyteller.

thestoryteller

According to the back cover:

Sage Singer is a baker. She works through the night, preparing the day’s breads and pastries, trying to escape a reality of loneliness, bad memories, and the shadow of her mother’s death. When Josef Weber, an elderly man in Sage’s grief support group, begins stopping by the bakery, they strike up an unlikely friendship. Despite their differences, they see in each other the hidden scars that others can’t.

Everything changes on the day that Josef confesses a long-buried and shame­ful secret and asks Sage for an extraordinary favor. If she says yes, she faces not only moral repercussions, but potentially legal ones as well. With the integrity of the closest friend she’s ever had clouded, Sage begins to question the assumptions and expectations she’s made about her life and her family. In this searingly honest novel, Jodi Picoult gracefully explores the lengths to which we will go in order to keep the past from dictating the future. 

Moral repercussions! Legal Repercussions! Let the page turning begin!

-B

Image 12

A penny for your thoughts

