Bon Weekend

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 6.18.09 PM

Bar prep got REAL this week. The amount of hours I’m dedicating daily has seemingly gone through the roof now that we are on state specific topics. T-32. Aside from studying, I finally made it over to the new vegan bar in the Gayborhood, Charlie was a sinner. (yes, the name includes punctuation). I was really impressed, although not surprised, by how Nicole Marquis (owner of HipCityVeg) upped her game from vegan “fast food.” The vegan ricotta spread was one of the most delicious iterations of tofu I’ve ever had (read: not like tofu at all!).

photo

The BF and I both got the mango lassi mocktails which were more like a mango lassi cocktail than the smoothie like texture of a normal lassi. Delicious nonetheless and I can’t wait to try the non-alcoholic version! The rest of the cocktail list looked incredible. As I was reading through the menu, I found myself saying “Ooh! This looks good!” to just about every drink. I’m so glad the vegan scene in Philly is ever expanding!

Here’s a bit of what else on my radar this weekend:

+   Save 20% during the summer sale at BaubleBar! I’m obsessed with the brand new BAUBLEBAR x STRIPES & SEQUINS collaboration which is included in the sale. I may or may not have already purchased the Crystal Mason Ring. The Mason ring is such a stunner (and only $28)! Most of the collaboration can be seen in the top image!

+   Speaking of sales, I don’t know what’s going on at Piperlime nearly the entire site including tons vegan leather apparel is on sale. Happy shopping!

+   Behold: the complete Philly guide to outdoor movies this summer. I’m all about seeing one of my favorite movies, Ratatouille, on August 9!

+   There is a new free yoga class being offered in Bella Vista (8th and Fitzwater). It will be held on Monday nights at 6 pm. Just bring your own mat!

+   J.Lo is creating a new line of vegan supplements, according to Philly.com, following her 22-day vegan cleanse. I’m really curious to see what this line is going to look like! Vitamins? Protein Powder? I’m hoping lots of B-12!

+   Cue the tissues. These pictures of humans saving animals are beyond heartwarming. I love my puppy to the moon and back and feel that all animals are deserving of that compassion. These images struck a chord with me because it was posted by a friend who frequently posts her fantastic meal-filled dishes and reminded me of the disconnect I had with food.

-B

Image via

A penny for your thoughts

