What I’ve Been Up To

I’ve realized that I honestly don’t have time right now to make individual posts for the fun things I’ve been up to in my free time. Each weekend, I try to do something fun and ideally outside. Bar prep has seriously put a damper on experiencing my favorite time of year and after this winter I have some serious vitamin D to make up.

Screen Shot 2014-06-19 at 8.20.01 AM

This past saturday I went to the first annual Philly Veg Fest. I had such a good time at this event and was so impressed by the turnout! The festival was packed! Which unfortunately created lots of lines for the popular vendors. There was quite a bit of line-cutting because it wasn’t entirely clear where lines started but everyone was so polite about it. My friends and I joked that it wouldn’t be the case if it was a meat-eating festival. 😛

My sole indulgence was a Mediterranean taco from the forthcoming V Street from the geniuses behind Vedge. Holy Moly was that taco delicious. It had a smoked mushroom as the “meat” and a whole bunch of mediterranean toppings like some sort of hummus, veggies, and spicy sauce. I wish I didn’t have to wait until the fall to have another!

Screen Shot 2014-06-19 at 8.22.15 AM

P.S. My instagram pic from the event was featured on PhillyMag.com. It was a pinch-me blogger moment when I came across it! I’m also a phillymag.com addict…. so there’s that too.

10450158_10101668380838334_522183256777006960_nThe weekend before, I went to the Wanderlust Festival up in NoLibs. That event was a lot of fun but a bit all over the place for me. As evidenced by the above pic, no one was really doing the same thing at the same time. In fact,  I think I’m the only person flowing through chaturanga. The day was also CRAZY hot and I felt like I was baking on my mat. My mat got so hot and the ground was just radiating heat. I found myself frequently stopping to grab water because it was so damn hot which broke up the flow for me. Don’t get me wrong , I had a great time with friends, it just wasn’t the relaxing yoga experience I prefer. Next year, I’d sign up for a much earlier or later time slot when the sun isn’t so strong!

What lies ahead? A double bar mitzvah this weekend. I’m looking forward to wearing something besides yoga pants, getting a little dolled up, and of course seeing lots of family!

-B

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To

  1. I love the idea of doing something outside every weekend — so key to staying sane through this. My friends and I are going to a wine tasting outside tomorrow night after a practice MBE session, so necessary to have something to look forward to!

    • Wine tasting would be amazing right now! I’m sure the wineries you have out in Cali beat anything we have here in Philly area. We do have good breweries though… now that could be a solid plan!

A penny for your thoughts

