Yoga on the Steps

A few weeks ago, Arielle invited me to do Yoga on the Steps to support Living Beyond Breast Cancer. I had been considering going, but really didn’t want to go alone. My grandmother has ovarian cancer and her sister has breast cancer and I know just how much community support groups have meant to them since their diagnoses. A chance to give back to one of those groups is priceless. Once Arielle’s invite came along, I immediately registered!

Although there was a VERY long registration check-in line, the event was very well-organized and it only took a few minutes before I was inside the event. Once admitted, there was free Kind bars, free coconut water, and free Bai tea. Just a few of my favorite things! I met up with Vanessa and headed up to the top of the stairs to fine Arielle who graciously saved our spots!
IMG_2502

As we made our way to the top of the stairs, I was seriously impressed by the turnout. The stairs were covered in yoga mats in every direction. There was just enough space for us to pass by and continue upwards. Although the event was mostly women, there was a respectable amount of men in the group too.

IMG_2504

The view from the top of the stairs is iconic and to be able to do yoga among so many people with such positive energy was incredible. It was an experience I will never forget and one I hope to repeat in the future. One of my favorite moments during the practice was the partner yoga. At one point we all got in a big Rockette-esque line and held each other up during tree pose. The instructor reminded us to raise each other up and how strong we are together as a community. It was a beautiful and moving moment and very creative on part of the instructor.

IMG_2506

I snapped this next pic as we entered shavasana (my favorite but most difficult asana). It was a perfect morning and to bask in the glow of the sun was such a treat. Outdoor yoga is something I’m enjoying more and more. Sometimes uneven ground makes things more difficult but standing in Warrior II as a breeze blows over you is indescribable! I’m going to try to make it to Yoga in the Park or Yoga on Race Street Pier more often.

IMG_2510

For some more pictures and another point of view on the event check out Arielle’s blog.

-B

One thought on “Yoga on the Steps

A penny for your thoughts

