Wissahickon Morning

I am acutely aware of certain Philadelphia activities that I shamefully have never done. This includes: going to a Marc Vetri restaurant (sorry, Pizzeria Vetri doesn’t count in my book), hanging out on Race Street Pier, running down Kelly Drive, exploring Eastern State Penitentiary, and hiking in the Wissahickon… among others. Pretty shameful for someone who has lived in Philly for 7 years. Well, I’m proud to say that one of those items got a little mental check mark next to it this weekend: The Wissahickon.

As we drove up Lincoln Drive towards Chestnut Hill, I was already kicking myself for not going. Where did all these trees come from? Are you sure this is still “Philly?” Le sigh. Even the houses were some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The stone work was gorgeous and many homes looks straight out of Europe.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.15.42 AM

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.17.18 AM

Once we found our way to a trail entrance, we set off into the park. I was immediately taken back by its beauty, cleanliness, and water! Maybe it’s because I’m a Pisces, but anything with water is 100x more beautiful to me. It got me thinking to the last time I went hiking which was over 3 years ago at Ein Gedi in Israel with my cousins! Too long! Even though I’m a city girl, I have a pretty substantial soft spot for being out in nature. When I was a kid, if you couldn’t find me, chances are I was up in a tree. I really need to spend more time with trees and less time with concrete.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.29.43 AM

Our group’s initial destination was Devil’s Pool, a deep pool with perfect rocks to jump from. It seems like the perfect oasis to escape the summer heat in the city. (Just bring bug spray!) Aside the jumping rock, was a Shakespeare poem in the side of the rocks. Sorry for the bad angle, I was afraid of getting too close to the edge!

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.32.07 AM

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.33.29 AM

Waterfall into Devil’s Pool

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.33.41 AM

Some perspective of the height from the jumping rock

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.35.58 AM

Atop the Jumping Rock (Left: Vanessa, Center: Me, Right: Adrienne) Photo Cred: Kevin

We continued from Devil’s Pool deeper into the trails. We followed along a stream and jumped from rock to rock to cross it. We eventually stumbled upon a huge downed tree that went across the stream. Our first instinct: Kodak moment! Background: I’ve known Adrienne since 6th grade and Vanessa since 7th. We go wayyy back and have the ridiculous photo shoots to prove it. Taking pictures is our forte. Behold:

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.36.57 AM

Ok… this one is just me being a spaz. Confession: I’m afraid of heights and insisted on crawling across the tree rather than just walking down it.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.36.13 AM

Still can’t believe this place is in city limits

We walked all the way back to the car, then realized we kinda wanted to hike some more. So we picked a new path and set off. This trail was much more narrow, wet, rocky, and uphill than the first trail. It was much more difficult for us, but definitely not for any of the many dogs we came across. They flew up and down the trails with remarkable ease. I can’t say Beau will be joining anytime soon though ;). Eventually, we came across a huge dam that made the most calming rushing water noise and created some white water conditions. We sat down on some rocks along the water for a few minutes and just listened to the water rush by.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 9.33.58 AMWe continued past the dam and saw some kayakers outfitted with helmets. I thought “OH MY GOD, THEY ARE GOING OVER THE DAM.” Which lo and behold they did and I got on camera! They made it look so easy but I probably would be screaming 500 feet out. Ha!

Wissahickon Kayakers

Until next time Wissahickon. I promise it won’t be another 7 years until we meet again!

-B

 

2 thoughts on “Wissahickon Morning

  1. I love Wissahickon! I’ve been a couple times, and have been trying to find the Toleration Statue, but I can never seem to find it. I also want to eat at the Valley Green Inn. I even saw a wedding there once! It’s so beautiful- even in the fall when all the leaves are changing.

A penny for your thoughts

