Dear Spinning, I Love to Hate You but I Really Love You

fly

I’ve come to realize that I have a serious addiction to free fitness classes. If that is wrong, I don’t want to be right. I’m a broke law student! Can you blame me? I promise once I have a real lawyer income (AUGUST!) I’ll be more than happy to support the fantastic studios that offer free classes… but I’ll still go to free classes too ;). As my favorite founding father, Benji Franklin, once said “a penny saved is a penny earned.”

Last night I fulfilled my addiction by going to a free spinning class sponsored by City Sports at FlyWheel [1521 and Locust]. To be honest, I really didn’t feel like going. I was having a blast with my friend Kathie and my puppy just shooting the shit but I had told some twitter friends that I’d be going and I didn’t want to be Debbie Downer or worse… Nancy No-show. So I hopped on the BSL for the first time in weeks to go to Flywheel. I’ve been mostly biking since finishing my internship, but I thought I probably wouldn’t want to bike home after a spinning class. I was right.

So I show up to FlyWheel at 7:30 on the dot thinking I was late for a 7:30 class. Turns out the class was at 7:45 and I was an idiot. Whatev. It gave me plenty of time to get my shoes, locker, and water bottle filled with “room temperature” water. Once we got in the room I placed myself dead center in the back row and started peddling. The instructor Emily was the shit. Not only did she play awesome music but she was super hyped and encouraging the whole time. I’d definitely take one of her classes again in the future.

I had a much easier time at this spinning session than the last one I did a few months ago. I suppose I have Broad Street training to thank for that! I found it much easier to keep up with both the torq and rpm commands. One area I know I need to work on is my rpm when I’m out of the saddle. I just can’t get my legs to move that fast when I’m standing… yet. Another thing I need to work on? Getting my damn feet out of the locks. I feel bad just leaving the shoes locked in but I need to stretch!

Following the class, I met up with fellow spinner and Philly powerhouse Kiera Smalls, owner of CityFitGirls and personal trainer. We went to HoneyGrow, which seems to be a post-FlyWheel ritual and chatted about everything but mostly our excitement for the upcoming openings of Charlie was a sinner. and V Street.  I got a spicy veggie stir fry with tofu and boy did I need it! Mid-way through the spinning class I thought about how little I ate during the day and how I really needed to eat something protein based for dinner. All I had to eat yesterday was a bowl of kasha and almond milk, and PB sandwich, and a bunch of homemade hummus. NOT enough to survive spinning. Thankfully, the stir fry was huge (a whole Chinese take out box) and I ended up having leftovers. I can’t wait to have the rest of that spicy delicious-ness for lunch today!

If you want to sign up for a FlyWheel class: 1. let me know and 2. Do it on their amazing app!

3 thoughts on “Dear Spinning, I Love to Hate You but I Really Love You

  1. Pingback: Bon Weekend | Cocktails + Quinoa

A penny for your thoughts

