Brunching at High Street on Market

brunch

Last weekend, I went out for brunch before picking up my Broad Street Run bib. I met up with my roommate, Victoria, from a leadership conference way back during my junior year of high school. We had kept in touch over Facebook, but we finally made time to meet up in person after all these years. Victoria went to L.A. for college to study at USC but moved back to the area after graduation. I remembered her as a big runner, she was that girl who got up an extra hour early to sneak in a run before the day’s activities. Overachiever! Now that she’s (finally) passed all the sections of the CPA exam, she’s excited to get back to running. I really enjoyed talking about running with her now that it’s something that I love too!

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 10.30.35 PM

Anyways… onto the good stuff! The food!! Let me tell you High Street on Market [308 Market St.], did not disappoint! We dined at the semi-awkward time of 2pm, but that meant we had both the breakfast and lunch menu to choose from! Also, no waiting for a table! It just so happened that we both ordered from the lunch menu. I got the ancient grains salad sans goat cheese. It was phenomenal. Ancient Grains Salad included farro, puffed rice, cider pickled cranberries, celery root, arugula, seeded toasts and topped with maple mustard vinaigrette. I’d get it over and over again if I could.  Don’t be deceived by the picture, the salad was HUGE and very filling!

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 10.17.30 PMVictoria got the eggplant sandwich which came on the most beautiful bread. By removing the cheddar, that dish could easily become vegan too! Speaking of bread, we ordered the daily bread selection to split. (p.s. I have a carb problem… acknowledgement is the first step right?) So freaking good. I didn’t even mind skipping the homemade butter and eating the bread plain! I would definitely recommend the bread no matter what you order. You can even order loaves to go!

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 10.30.44 PM

Seeing that High Street is owned by the same people as Fork, I had high expectations. They were vastly exceeded. The interior was quaint and the food presentation was beautiful. Between the chef, Eli Kulp, being named Best New Chef by Food & Wine magazine and Craig LaBan (who I follow religiously) giving it a very respectable 3 Bells (out of 4), you know this place is onto something!  I love this short video showing the creation of the restaurant.

Final word: if you haven’t been to High Street on Market yet, GO! If you have and want to go back, call me!

-B

Images 1, 2, & 4 + video via

3 thoughts on “Brunching at High Street on Market

  1. I’ve been meaning to go here ever since it changed over from Fork etc.! The bread selection sounds so delicious!

  2. Pingback: Bon Weekend | Cocktails + Quinoa

A penny for your thoughts

