Shopping Fix

After transitioning to a meat-free and plant-based diet, one of the most common questions I received was “What are you going to do about your leather bags and shoes.” My answer: I’m keeping them and I’m wearing them. These were purchases I made when I had a different lifestyle and different priorities. They are purchases I saved up months for and use daily. Would trashing them or selling them solve anything beyond appeasing the expectations of others? I doubt it. Going forward I’m going to consciously make more compassionate purchasing decisions but I do not hold myself to a perfectionist standard and wouldn’t expect others to do so either. Regardless, I’m a 20-something girl with a mean emotional shopping weakness. Seeing that I just finished law school today (!), I think I deserve a little something special. I have a had a few items on my shopping list for ages and was thrilled when I found vegan version that I love at reasonable prices to boot. Maybe switching to more vegan products won’t be so hard after all!

1. Spring-y Work Bag

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 7.57.57 PM

I loved the Malone satchel from Matt and Nat from the moment I stumbled upon it. The shape is perfect and it comes in 5 practical colors. The adjustable shoulder strap takes this bag from workplace to farmers market in a heartbeat.  The price, at $138, it puts more expensive leather bags to shame. Matt and Nat is an incredible green and vegan company with some seriously beautiful bags, wallets, and tech accessories. Their materials are natural, sustainable and often come from recycled materials such as plastic bottles and bicycle tires. Sold!

2.  Yoga Shoes

I really don’t have a good yoga class shoe. I feel a bit ridiculous rolling into a yoga studio wearing sneakers. I’d much rather have something that I can easily slip off and on and fit into a tote. What better company to buy slip on shoes from than Tom’s? We all know about their amazing charity but they have a pretty impressive vegan line as well. I particularly love this pattern from Tom’s. It reminds me of Israel and imagery found on a lot of Judiaca.

3. D’Orsay Flats

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 7.59.13 PM

I originally became obsessed with the Vince’s Nina D’Orsay Flat but at $295 I ran for the hills. When I found the Kimi flat from Cri De Coeur on MooShoes I nearly squealed with happiness! At less than 50% the cost of the Vince shoes, these bad boys become a must buy when you consider that they are also vegan and made in an ethical, sweatshop-free facility in China. TRIPLE WHAMMY!

I loved making this post and finding some new ethical, sustainable, and vegan companies. Any other companies I should know about?

-B

Image 1, 2, 3

A penny for your thoughts

