Philly Veg Dining Guide Launch

l

Last night I stepped a bit out of my comfort zone. I went to a party where I didn’t know anyone. I knew some twitter handles, but that was about it. The shindig at Tattooed Mom’s for the launch of the Philly Veg Dining Guide was set to start at 7 so I aimed to get there shortly thereafter. I even arrived a bit earlier than I wanted to, about 7:10 and considered dilly-dallying around South Street for a bit to kill time. I ended up going right in and was shocked by just how many people were already there! Veg-heads sure are timely!

Unfortunately, I can’t say that I had the chance to have much of the food. I’m currently keeping Passover and many of the food options came on a bun or crust. However, I did have AMAZING gluten-free papaya pasta salad and sushi from Pure Fare [119 S 21st St]. Holy moly I want that pasta salad again! The food from Tattooed Mom’s [530 South St.] seemed to be a big hit and so was the vegetarian pizza from Slice [1180 S 10th St.]. As far as the vegan pizza goes, everyone seemed in agreement that Blackbird [507 S 6th St.] remains on top.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 9.16.42 PM

Speaking of Blackbird, I met some incredibly friendly fellow vegans last night (Hey! @veganliciousLJ @kiarasmalls @takiamcclendon @liabelardo @veganpinoy!) and we decided to take the after party there. Everything they ordered looked so delicious but unfortunately made of all sorts of chametz. I can’t wait to cure my next hang over with Blackbird’s award-winning “cheesesteak.”

Hanging out with the #vegangirlmafia was the absolute highlight of my night. (Yes, I’m now in a mafia. Yes, it has a gang sign that may or may not look like a butterfly. Yes, it has it’s own marketing team and recruitment ambassador.)  It was so nice to hang out with people who are FAR more knowledgable than I about the Philly veg scene. They had so many tips, suggestions, and stories including vegan celebs like Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Alicia Silverstone! I can’t wait to see them all again at the AfroVegan Supper Club in the Germantown section of the city on April 28.

You can check out the Humane League’s full veg guide here.

-B

One thought on “Philly Veg Dining Guide Launch

A penny for your thoughts

